House Constitution Caucus Overwhelmingly Supports Indefinite Detention without Charge

The Constitution Caucus of the House of Representatives proclaims itself dedicated to keeping congressional action within the bounds of the United States Constitution:

“The Constitution is the guide I will never abandon.” — George Washington

Recognizing that the Constitution can only be preserved if it lives in the hearts and minds of the American people, the Constitution Caucus will provide an effective forum for education on founding principles and the appropriate limitations of congressional action.

How well does the Constitution Caucus apply its principles in action?

Consider the 5th and 6th Amendments to the Constitution. These sections of the Bill of Rights prohibit the government from depriving any person of life, liberty or property without due process. In a constitutional America, government agents aren’t allowed throw someone into jail forever just because it wants to. According to our Constitution, the government must accuse a person of something if it wants to hold that person, and it has to provide evidence to back up that accusation. Finally, a jury of the accused person’s peers is supposed to decide in a public trial whether the evidence proves what the government says it does. As most of us learned in high school civics class, governments that fail to follow these rules are called “totalitarian,” and the people who live under totalitarian governments are subjects, not free citizens.

On December 14 2011, the House of Representatives voted to pass a bill that tested legislators’ commitment to the 5th and 6th Amendments to the Constitution. The House voted to pass H.R. 1540, a bill granting government agents the power to detain people without placing them under arrest, to imprison people without charge forever, without a right to a trial, without a chance to even learn what their rights are.

If the Constitution Caucus truly supports constitutional limits on congressional action, surely it would vote against a bill that guts key aspects of the Constitution’s Bill of Rights.

How did members of the Constitution Caucus actually vote? See below.

Members of the Constitution Caucus who Supported Constitutional Rights by Voting NO on H.R. 1540:

Rep. Larry Bucshon (Republican-IN, District 8 )
Rep. John Campbell (Republican-CA, District 48)
Rep. Jason Chaffetz (Republican-UT, District 3)
Rep. John Duncan (Republican-TN, District 2)
Rep. Randy Forbes (Republican-VA, District 4)
Rep. Scott Garrett (Republican-NJ, District 5)
Rep. Bob Goodlatte (Republican-VA, District 6)
Rep. Morgan Griffith (Republican-VA, District 9)
Rep. Tim Huelskamp (Republican-KS, District 1)
Rep. Bill Huizenga (Republican-MI, District 2)
Rep. Cynthia Lummis (Republican-WY, District 0)
Rep. Connie Mack (Republican-FL, District 14)
Rep. Tom McClintock (Republican-CA, District 4)
Rep. Mick Mulvaney (Republican-SC, District 5)
Rep. Mike Pence (Republican-IN, District 6)
Rep. Bill Posey (Republican-FL, District 15)
Rep. Marlin Stutzman (Republican-IN, District 3)
Rep. Timothy Walberg (Republican-MI, District 7)

Constitution Caucus votes 56-18 for indefinite detention without arrest, charges or trial, violating the 5th and 6th Amendments to the U.S. Constitution.Members of the Constitution Caucus who Opposed Constitutional Rights by Voting YES on H.R. 1540:

Rep. Todd Akin (Republican-MO, District 2)
Rep. Rodney Alexander (Republican-LA, District 5)
Rep. Spencer Bachus (Republican-AL, District 6)
Rep. Roscoe Bartlett (Republican-MD, District 6)
Rep. Brian Bilbray (Republican-CA, District 50)
Rep. Rob Bishop (Republican-UT, District 1)
Rep. Kevin Brady (Republican-TX, District 8 )
Rep. Mo Brooks (Republican-AL, District 5)
Rep. Paul Broun (Republican-GA, District 10)
Rep. Michael Conaway (Republican-TX, District 11)
Rep. John Culberson (Republican-TX, District 7)
Rep. Geoff Davis (Republican-KY, District 4)
Rep. Renee Ellmers (Republican-NC, District 2)
Rep. John Fleming (Republican-LA, District 4)
Rep. Virginia Foxx (Republican-NC, District 5)
Rep. Trent Franks (Republican-AZ, District 2)
Rep. Cory Gardner (Republican-CO, District 4)
Rep. Bob Gibbs (Republican-OH, District 18)
Rep. John Gingrey (Republican-GA, District 11)
Rep. Nan Hayworth (Republican-NY, District 19)
Rep. Walter Herger (Republican-CA, District 2)
Rep. Darrell Issa (Republican-CA, District 49)
Rep. Lynn Jenkins (Republican-KS, District 2)
Rep. Jim Jordan (Republican-OH, District 4)
Rep. Steve King (Republican-IA, District 5)
Rep. John Kline (Republican-MN, District 2)
Rep. Doug Lamborn (Republican-CO, District 5)
Rep. Robert Latta (Republican-OH, District 5)
Rep. Billy Long (Republican-MO, District 7)
Rep. Blaine Luetkemeyer (Republican-MO, District 9)
Rep. Daniel Lungren (Republican-CA, District 3)
Rep. Thaddeus McCotter (Republican-MI, District 11)
Rep. Mike McIntyre (Democrat-NC, District 7)
Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers (Republican-WA, District 5)
Rep. Jeff Miller (Republican-FL, District 1)
Rep. Candice Miller (Republican-MI, District 10)
Rep. Randy Neugebauer (Republican-TX, District 19)
Rep. Richard Nugent (Republican-FL, District 5)
Rep. Alan Nunnelee (Republican-MS, District 1)
Rep. Pete Olson (Republican-TX, District 22)
Rep. Stevan Pearce (Republican-NM, District 2)
Rep. Mike Pompeo (Republican-KS, District 4)
Rep. Tom Price (Republican-GA, District 6)
Rep. Tom Reed (Republican-NY, District 29)
Rep. Dennis Rehberg (Republican-MT, District 0)
Rep. Scott Rigell (Republican-VA, District 2)
Rep. Michael Rogers (Republican-MI, District 8 )
Rep. Dennis Ross (Republican-FL, District 12)
Rep. Jon Runyan (Republican-NJ, District 3)
Rep. Adrian Smith (Republican-NE, District 3)
Rep. Lamar Smith (Republican-TX, District 21)
Rep. Steve Southerland (Republican-FL, District 2)
Rep. Glenn Thompson (Republican-PA, District 5)
Rep. Allen West (Republican-FL, District 22)
Rep. Joe Wilson (Republican-SC, District 2)
Rep. Rob Wittman (Republican-VA, District 1)

Perhaps it’s time for the “Constitution Caucus” to consider a name change.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *