79 House Democrats Vote To Keep Afghanistan War Going On Even Longer

For quite some time now, the majority of Americans has supported an end to the war in Afghanistan. The war is almost eleven years old now, and the goal of defeating the Taliban is no closer now than it was during the first year of the war.

In order to deal with this problem, U.S. Representative Barbara Lee proposed an amendment to H.R. 4310, the National Defense Authorization Act for 2013. The Lee amendment, if passed, would have prohibited the military for spending any money in Afghanistan except for on non-combat humanitarian activities, and on activities leading to the withdrawal of American military forces from the country.

The amendment did not pass. In spite of the fact that most Americans want the U.S. military to leave Afghanistan, 303 members of the U.S. House voted against Lee’s amendment of military withdrawal from the war in Afghanistan. Only 113 representatives voted in favor.

A slim majority of House Democrats, 53%, voted for the amendment to end the war in Afghanistan. 42% joined the House Republicans to keep the Afghanistan war going on even longer, without any end in sight.

The names of these 79 pro-war congressional Democrats are:

Gary Ackerman, Jason Altmire, Robert Andrews, Joe Baca, John Barrow, Shelley Berkley, Howard Berman, Sanford Bishop, Timothy Bishop, Corrine Brown, G.K. Butterfield, Russ Carnahan, John Carney, Kathy Castor, Ben Chandler, Jim Clyburn, Gerald Connolly, Jim Cooper, Jim Costa, Joe Courtney, Mark Critz, Henry Cuellar, Susan Davis, Ted Deutch, Norman Dicks, John Dingell, Lloyd Doggett, Joe Donnelly, Eliot Engel, John Garamendi, Charles Gonzalez, Al Green, Gene Green, Ruben Hinojosa, Kathy Hochul, Steny Hoyer, Steve Israel, Hank Johnson, Dale Kildee, Ron Kind, Larry Kissell, James Langevin, Rick Larsen, Sander Levin, Dan Lipinski, Nita Lowey, Ben Luján, Stephen Lynch, Jim Matheson, Kevin McCarthy, Carolyn McCarthy, Betty McCollum, Mike McIntyre, Jerry McNerney, Brad Miller, Gary Miller, Nancy Pelosi, Ed Perlmutter, Gary Peters, Collin Peterson, David Price, Silvestre Reyes, Laura Richmond, Lucille Roybal-Allard, Dutch Ruppersberger, John Sarbanes, Adam Schiff, Allyson Schwartz, David Scott, Terri Sewell, Brad Sherman, Heath Shuler, Adam Smith, Betty Sutton, Christopher Van Hollen, and Timothy Walz.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *