The Anti-Gay Democrats Of the House of Representatives

This week, the House of Representatives approved an amendment to H.R. 5326, forbidding the President from directing the Department of Justice to resist the Defense of Marriage Act. It was a merely symbolic vote, because the Obama Administration is not using the Department of Justice to oppose the implementation of the Defense of Marriage Act.

The message of the amendment was clear: There are still many people in Congress who are dedicated to standing against equal rights for gay and lesbian Americans. Among the anti-gay politicians voting for this bill of bigotry were 16 congressional Democrats:

John Barrow, Sanford Bishop, Dan Boren, Ben Chandler, Jerry Costello, Mark Critz, Henry Cuellar, Tim Holden, Larry Kissell, Dan Lipinski, Jim Matheson, Mike McIntyre, Collin Peterson, Nick Rahall, Mike Ross, and Heath Shuler.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *