21 Democrats Help Tar Oil XL Pipeline And Wildlife Refuge Drilling

A few minutes ago, the U.S. House of Representatives passed H.R 3408, with the torturously long name of the Protecting Investment in Oil Shale the Next Generation of Environmental, Energy, and Resource Security Act. The legislation is an assault on the environmental integrity of the United States, doing the following:
– Approving the XL Pipeline, which is designed to carry oil derived from tar sands in Canada, all the way from Alberta down to refineries in Texas, across the Ogllala Aquifer.
– Pushing offshore drilling for oil and gas into even larger areas along America’s shores than the recently expanded zones approved by President Barack Obama. No safety regulations have been passed by Congress to try to prevent a repetition of the Deepwater Horizon explosion and oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico.
– Opening up the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge to oil drilling.

Most of the support for this bill came from the Republican Party. However, 21 House Democrats also voted in favor of this anti-environmental legislation. The names of the Democrats who joined the Republicans in handing economic favors to oil corporations are:

Jason Altmire
John Barrow
Sanford Bishop
Dan Boren
Leonard Boswell
Jim Cooper
Jim Costa
Mark Critz
Henry Cuellar
Joe Donnelly
Al Green
Gene Green
Ruben Hinojosa
Kathleen Hochul
Larry Kissell
Jim Matheson
Mike McIntyre
William Owens
Collin Peterson
Cedric Richmond
Mike Ross

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *