The 34 Do-Nothing Members of the House of Representatives (May 31, 2011)

As of May 31 2011, the following thirty-four members of the U.S. House of Representatives have not introduced a single bill or amendment for consideration in the 112th Congress.

Members in their first term who have not introduced a single bill or amendment:
Dan Beniskek of Michigan, conservative Republican
Rick Berg of North Dakota, conservative Republican
Mo Brooks of Alabama, conservative Republican
Larry Bucshon of Indiana, conservative Republican
Ann Marie Buerkle of New York, conservative Republican
Hansen Clarke of Michigan, moderate Democrat
Rick Crawford of Arkansas, conservative Republican
Scott DesJarlais of Tennessee, conservative Republican
Chuck Fleischmann of Tennessee, conservative Republican
Andy Harris of Maryland, conservative Republican
Patrick Meehan of Pennsylvania, moderate Republican
Alan Nunnelee of Mississippi, conservative Republican
Steven Palazzo of Mississippi, conservative Republican
James Renacci of Ohio, conservative Republican
Martha Roby of Alabama, conservative Republican
Todd Rokita of Indiana, conservative Republican
Bobby Schilling of Illinois, moderate Republican
Austin Scott of Georgia, conservative Republican
Lynn Westmoreland of Georgia, conservative Republican
Frederica Wilson of Florida, moderate Democrat
Todd Young of Indiana, conservative Democrat

Returning members of the House who have not introduced a single bill or amendment:
Xavier Becerra of California, liberal Democrat
Ander Crenshaw of Florida, conservative Republican
Mario Diaz-Balart of Florida, conservative Republican
Eni Faleomavaega, Democratic delegate
Tim Holden of Pennsylvania, conservative Democrat
Jerry Lewis of California, conservative Republican
Richard Neal of Massachusetts, liberal Democrat
John Olver of Massachusetts, liberal Democrat
Peter Roskam of Illinois, conservative Republican
Allyson Schwartz of Pennsylvania, moderate Democrat
David Scott of Georgia, conservative Democrat
Nydia Velázquez of New York, liberal Democrat
Melvin Watt of North Carolina, liberal Democrat

Members’ inactivity in introducing bills and amendments is related to other measures of inactivity, including bill cosponsorship, the act of formally supporting another members’ bill. The following graph shows the average number of cosponsorships for members who have introduced varying amounts of legislation of their own.

Graph: Bills Introduced by Bills Cosponsored

Those members of the House who are especially active in bill introduction are also exceptionally active in supporting others’ bills. Members who don’t write their own bills also support their fellows’ bills less often.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *