The 49 Do-Nothing Members of the House of Representatives (May 2011)

As of May 4 2011, the following forty-nine members of the 112th Congress have introduced not one bill or amendment for consideration by the current U.S. House of Representatives since it gaveled into session five months ago.

In their first term in the House:
Dan Beniskek of Michigan, conservative Republican
Rick Berg of North Dakota, conservative Republican
Mo Brooks of Alabama, conservative Republican
Larry Bucshon of Indiana, conservative Republican
Ann Marie Buerkle of New York, conservative Republican
David Cicilline of Rhode Island, liberal Democrat
Hansen Clarke of Michigan, moderate Democrat
Rick Crawford of Arkansas, conservative Republican
Scott DesJarlais of Tennessee, conservative Republican
Chuck Fleischmann of Tennessee, conservative Republican
Trey Gowdy of South Carolina, conservative Republican
Colleen Hanabusa of Hawaii, moderate Democrat
Andy Harris of Maryland, conservative Republican
Mike Kelly of Pennsylvania, conservative Republican
Thomas Marino of Pennsylvania, conservative Republican
Patrick Meehan of Pennsylvania, moderate Republican
Alan Nunnelee of Mississippi, conservative Republican
Steven Palazzo of Mississippi, conservative Republican
James Renacci of Ohio, conservative Republican
Martha Roby of Alabama, conservative Republican
Todd Rokita of Indiana, conservative Republican
Bobby Schilling of Illinois, moderate Republican
Austin Scott of Georgia, conservative Republican
Terri Sewell of Alabama, conservative Democrat
Lynn Westmoreland of Georgia, conservative Republican
Frederica Wilson of Florida, moderate Democrat
Todd Young of Indiana, conservative Democrat

Members of Congress with more than one term in office:
Jason Altmire of Pennsylvania, conservative Democrat
Xavier Becerra of California, liberal Democrat
Corrine Brown of Florida, moderate Democrat
Bill Cassidy of Louisiana, conservative Republican
Howard Coble of North Carolina, conservative Republican
Ander Crenshaw of Florida, conservative Republican
John Culberson of Texas, conservative Republican
Mario Diaz-Balart of Florida, conservative Republican
Eni Faleomavaega, Democratic delegate
Jane Harman of California, conservative Democrat (retired)
Tim Holden of Pennsylvania, conservative Democrat
Rick Larsen of Washington, conservative Democrat
Jerry Lewis of California, conservative Republican
Gregory Meeks of New York, moderate Democrat
Richard Neal of Massachusetts, liberal Democrat
John Olver of Massachusetts, liberal Democrat
Peter Roskam of Illinois, conservative Republican
Allyson Schwartz of Pennsylvania, moderate Democrat
David Scott of Georgia, conservative Democrat
Adam Smith of Washington, conservative Democrat
Nydia Velázquez of New York, liberal Democrat
Melvin Watt of North Carolina, liberal Democrat

It is not surprising to find that a majority of those without legislation or amendments to their name are in their first term; as with any challenging job, it can take time for some people to find their footing. The prevalance of Republicans in this list of do-nothing legislators is due to the prevalance of Republicans among new members. The 22 veteran legislators who have no bills to their name do not have the excuse of newness; they’ve had plenty of time to come up with ideas of their own or to listen to constituents’ ideas. Republican moderates are conspicuously underrepresented in this list; of 34 ranking as congressional moderates in our legislative rating system, only 2 have failed to introduce their own legislation. A number of conservative Republicans, as the list reveals, have been inactive this year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *