House Democrats Split In Two On Taxes

Late last night, the House of Representatives voted to approve the legislation embodying Barack Obama’s deal with congressional Republicans to pass a package of tax cuts that includes tax cuts for extremely wealthy Americans, with lowered contributions from investment income and no tax paid at all by heirs inheriting up to 10 million dollars. The tax deal is heavily weighted to favor the extremely wealthy, with typical American families getting a pittance of a benefit in comparison to the rewards given to the rich. Democrats in the House failed to significantly amend the Obama-GOP agreement to make it less regressive.

Pete DeFazio represented liberal fury at the House Democratic leadership’s acquiescence to the irresponsible tax legislation, saying, “It will be a disaster for the American people. It is a bad deal for taxpayers, people who are unemployed and our kids and grandkids.” Nonetheless, many Democrats caved in to Republican demands that the tax legislation be passed. 139 voted in accordance with Barack Obama’s wishes, to pass the tax cuts for the rich. 112 Democrats voted against the legislation.

The following are the names of House Democrats, sorted according their vote last night.

Democrats Voting In Favor Of Tax Cuts For Billionaires:

John Adler
Jason Altmire
Robert Andrews
Michael Arcuri
Joe Baca
John Barrow
Melissa Bean
Shelley Berkley
Howard Berman
Sanford Bishop
Tim Bishop
John Boccieri
Dan Boren
Leon Boswell
Rick Boucher
Robert Brady
Bobby Bright
Lois Capps
Dennis Cardoza
Russ Carnahan
Christopher Carney
Andre Carson
Kathy Anne Castor
Ben Chandler
Travis Childers
William Lacy Clay
Gerald Connolly
Jim Costa
Joe Courtney
Mark Critz
Joe Crowley
Henry Cuellar
Artur Davis
Susan Davis
Danny Davis
Lincoln Davis
Bill Delahunt
Ted Deutch
Norm Dicks
John Dingell
Joe Donnelly
Michael Doyle
Steve Driehaus
Chet Edwards
Brad Ellsworth
Bob Etheridge
Chaka Fattah
Bill Foster
Gabrielle Giffords
Charles Gonzalez
Bart Gordon
Al Green
Luis Gutierrez
John Hall
Deborah Halvorson
Phil Hare
Jane Harman
Stephanie Herseth Sandlin
Brian Higgins
Baron Hill
Jim Himes
Ruben Hinojosa
Paul Hodes
Tim Holden
Steny Hoyer
Steve Israel
Hank Johnson
Patrick J. Kennedy
Dale E. Kildee
Ann Kirkpatrick
Larry Kissell
Ron Klein
Suzanne Kosmas
Frank Kratovil
Dennis Kucinich
James Langevin
Rick Larsen
Sander Levin
Dan Lipinski
Dave Loebsack
Nita Lowey
Dan Maffei
Carolyn Maloney
Betsy Markey
Jim Marshall
Jim Matheson
Mike McIntyre
Mike McMahon
Jerry McNerney
Kendrick Meek
Gregory Meeks
Walt Minnick
Harry Mitchell
Alan Mollohan
Dennis Moore
Scott Murphy
Patrick Murphy
Glenn Nye
James Oberstar
Bill Owens
Frank Pallone
Bill Pascrell
Ed Pastor
Tom Perriello
Gary Peters
Collin Peterson
Jared Polis
David Price
Mike Quigley
Nick Rahall
Laura Richardson
Mike Ross
Steve Rothman
Dutch Ruppersberger
Tim Ryan
John Salazar
John Sarbanes
Jan Schakowsky
Mark Schauer
Adam Schiff
Allyson Schwartz
David Scott
Joe Sestak
Brad Sherman
Heath Shuler
Albio Sires
Ike Skelton
Vic Snyder
Zack Space
John Spratt
Betty Sutton
Harry Teague
Dina Titus
Niki Tsongas
Tim Walz
Debbie Wasserman Schultz
Mel Watt
Henry Waxman
Charles Wilson

Democrats Voting Against Tax Cuts For Billionaires

Gary Ackerman
Brian Baird
Tammy Baldwin
Xavier Becerra
Earl Blumenauer
Allen Boyd
Bruce Braley
Corinne Brown
G. K. Butterfield
Michael Capuano
Judy Chu
Yvette Clarke
Emanuel Cleaver
James Clyburn
Steve Cohen
John Conyers
Jim Cooper
Jerry Costello
Elijah Cummings
Kathy Dahlkemper
Pete DeFazio
Diana DeGette
Rosa DeLauro
Lloyd Doggett
Donna Edwards
Keith Ellison
Eliot Engel
Anna Eshoo
Sam Farr
Bob Filner
Barney Frank
Marcia Fudge
John Garamendi
Alan Grayson
Gene Green
Raul Grijalva
Alcee Hastings
Martin Heinrich
Maurice Hinchey
Mazie Hirono
Rush Holt
Mike Honda
Jay Inslee
Jesse Jackson
Sheila Jackson Lee
Steve Kagen
Paul Kanjorski
Marcy Kaptur
Carolyn Kilpatrick
Mary Jo Kilroy
Ron Kind
John Larson
Barbara Lee
John Lewis
Zoe Lofgren
Ben Luján
Steve Lynch
Ed Markey
Doris Matsui
Betty McCollum
Jim McDermott
James McGovern
Charles Melancon
Michael Michaud
Brad Miller
George Miller
Gwen Moore
James Moran
Christopher Murphy
Jerrold Nadler
Grace Napolitano
Richard Neal
David Obey
John Olver
Solomon Ortiz
Donald Payne
Ed Perlmutter
Chellie Pingree
Earl Pomeroy
Charles Rangel
Silvestre Reyes
Ciro Rodriguez
Lucille Roybal-Allard
Bobby Rush
Linda Sánchez
Loretta Sanchez
Kurt Schrader
Robert Scott
Jose Serrano
Carol Shea-Porter
Louise Slaughter
Adam Smith
Jackie Speier
Peter Stark
Bart Stupak
John Tanner
Gene Taylor
Mike Thompson
Bennie Thompson
John Tierney
Paul Tonko
Ed Towns
Chris Van Hollen
Nydia Velázquez
Peter Visclosky
Maxine Waters
Diane Watson
Anthony Weiner
Peter Welch
Lynn Woolsey
David Wu
John Yarmuth


on “House Democrats Split In Two On Taxes
4 Comments on “House Democrats Split In Two On Taxes
  1. Pingback: Ted Deutch Double Talks On Senior Food And Taxes | That's My Congress

  2. Pingback: » Deutch Vs. Pingree On Food Aid Cuts - Irregular Times

  3. I am an American, born and rised, all the voted for this bill should be removed from office, I pay taxes and pay taxes, for what, So you can sit up there, and let Millionaires keep there money. and we are eating beans. Shame on you.

  4. He Jim Cooper is still a hidden snake,because he represent the Tennessee Tea Party Patriots.he tried to split his vote warm on one side cold on the other,Yes come election time he got to go.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *